How Much Is Enough?

As month six of my Paleo journey draws to a close, I’ve taken pause to look back.  I’m amazed at how far I’ve come; both in the reformation of my physical body but also my mental and spiritual health as well.  It’s true I still have a long way to go but the encouragement comes in the fact of how fast it’s all begun.  I would never have dreamed I’d come so far so fast back in January.  I look forward to what the next six months bring.

One question that does perplex me in this transitional moment is about weight loss.  My original goal was to drop ten pounds somewhere in the range of a year.  As I sit here this morning however, I’ve lost twenty and could, in my estimate, probably stand to lose five more.  I’m only basing that estimate on my own personal observations however, not any empirical evidence.  How much is enough weight loss?  Should weight loss be my focus or muscle gain?

All of this is really uncharted territory for me.  Now that weight maintenance and control isn’t a chore any more, I’m left wondering where I should move to next.  If building muscle is the name of the game then I need to start looking into gyms in the area and a training program.  If I’m going to continue losing weight, I need to examine the things that are holding me in place.  This would actually be the easiest option.  I can probably pick three things right now whose elimination would keep the scales going downward.

Don’t get me wrong though, I don’t feel like I’m getting derailed here, I just need to find my next goal.  I’m sure I’m not the first person that’s stood at this crossroads nor am I the only one.  How did you move on to your next Paleo goal?  How did you go about finding a gym and exercise regime?  Any suggestions about approach?  Please leave your comments, suggestions, or stories below.  They would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

