The Patience to Change

I am not a patient person.

For most of my life I have never had the will to wait for something.  Be it Summer, Santa Claus, or my birthday; days seemed weeks, weeks seemed like months, months seemed like years, and years seemed like millennia.  Of course part of this is the exuberance of youth.  It’s hard to wait for something when you wake up bouncing off the walls every morning and ready to take on the world.  The other part though was just me.  I hated to wait, hated to save money, hated to do anything that couldn’t be answered here.

RIGHT NOW.

It’s probably easy to see then that I think one of my failings in previous attempts to change was just sheer patience.  The will to change is often very strong in people.  It’s the patience to see the change through that often lacks.  I think that explains one of the major marketing axis of the commercial diet industry.  How many can you think of that promise eventual change if you stick with a sane program of eating and fitness?

Exactly.

None.

Why else would it be a kind of uncomfortable joke in society that we want everything yesterday?

Because there’s truth to it.

Why else would the crux of the commercial diet industry be the mythical instant results?

I don’t have science to back me up but someone must have studied the ability of the average Human to stick with a dietary regime and discovered it was around 30 days.  That seems to be the golden mean most of these diet plans work in.  Results in 30 days or your money back! 

Taking a sane approach to weight loss and full body health requires patience to see something through.  Not only to an end but beyond the end into the rest of your life.  Adopting a Paleo or Primal lifestyle requires you to work a lot of muscles; physical, mental, and emotional.  I’ve certainly given my Patience a workout in the last 6 months and I will continue to; not just for now but for the rest of my life.  As I’ve said before, Paleo isn’t a destination, it’s a journey.

So if you’re about a month in and reading this while you drink your morning coffee, take heart.  You may not see the instant results your calorie counting, chronic cardio friends are, but you’re into this for the long haul.  While they’re bemoaning the 20 lbs. that reappeared after the Summer, you’ll be on your way to a lifetime of health and vitality.  Work that Patience muscle until it looks like a well-defined bicep.  You have the will to change, now you just need the patience to see it through.

Leave a Reply

