An Easy Breakfast Idea

If you’re like me, one of the biggest adjustments I made going Paleo was eating breakfast.  Once I finally got to the point I was willing to do that, the next hurdle was having something good and nourishing.  Let’s face it, most people in the mainstream fall into two breakfast camps; eating nothing at all or having two doughnuts and three cups of coffee.  When your mother harped on you that breakfast was the most important meal of the day, she wasn’t kidding.  Breakfast not only fuels you up and gets you going for morning, it also keeps you out of the cupboard or allows you to resist that mid-morning, coffee shop muffin.

So how do you have something that’s nourishing, easy, and fits into your rushed morning routine?  Easy.  You just need a frying pan, some eggs, and any assorted vegetables.  I do an egg scramble in the morning that I absolutely love and I could eat everyday if I wasn’t able to change up my routine at all.  When I started making it, I couldn’t believe how easy it was and I started to wonder why I had ever neglected breakfast.  It fills me and keeps me from the mid-morning forage I used to fall prey to when I didn’t eat breakfast.  Let me know what you think or drop in your own easy breakfast suggestions in the comments.

Erin’s Easy Breakfast Scramble

  1. Cut up the vegetables you will add to the scramble.  Any vegetables will do, but what you use will effect cooking time in step 6.  I usually use broccoli and peppers simply because they are already relatively soft and in plentiful supply here.
  2. Pre-heat a frying pan.  I use the 7 or 8 setting on my stove.  I don’t turn it up to high because I want to cook and soften the vegetables, not burn them.
  3. Add a touch of your favourite cooking oil.  I use a touch of olive oil but really anything will work.  I like the flavour the olive oil imparts but your mileage may vary.  Just remember to use a very little bit.
  4. Lift the frying pan and move it to work the oil around your pan.  We only want to use a little bit but still get most of the pan oiled.
  5. Return the pan to the heated element.
  6. Add the vegetables prepared in step 1 to the pan.  Stir fry them until they are soft but not fully cooked.  Softening times will vary depending on the vegetables used.
  7. While the vegetables are cooking, whip three eggs in a bowl.
  8. When the vegetables have cooked to your satisfaction, add the eggs.
  9. Stir the eggs and vegetables and cook them like you’re preparing scrambled eggs in the frying pan.  This would be a good point to add a little shredded hard cheese if that’s to your liking.
  10. When the eggs are fully cooked, remove from the pan into a bowl and turn off your stove.
  11. Enjoy!

At the end you’ll have a filling, nourishing meal that will take you 10 minutes tops to complete.  You can eat it right then if you have time or throw it in a covered dish to take with you on the go.  Now you don’t have any excuses, go enjoy breakfast.

Leave a Reply

