Breaking Through

If you’ve been following the comments section of The Great Coffee Detox of 2011,  you know that my attempt at limiting my coffee intake over the past week has been . . . interesting.  I wouldn’t call it a failure as such because it’s actually been very instructive now that I’ve had a chance to think about it.

Sometimes there’s a wall in our lives that’s very hard to go around, go over, or break through.  It might be what we eat, it might be how we treat ourselves, or it might be our habits.  Habits are especially pernicious, especially when they’ve built up over a lifetime.  They accrete around us until they form that wall that separates us from our goal.  Breaking through that wall can be the hardest thing in the world.  We try and try and try and nothing seems to happen.  Day after day we chip away but more and more of the wall seems to fill in and take its place.

If you go back and read what I’ve written over the last month or so you’ll see this is all part of a common thread.  We are shackled by the past.  Our freedom is only in a future we can both imagine for ourselves and then use our strength, motivation, and determination to move towards.  If you’d told me a year ago I’d be 30 pounds lighter and running at least three days a week I would have laughed at you.  Yet here I am.  I broke through that wall.  This coffee thing is a new one I need to break through.  All I need to do is refocus, see my goal, and muscle my way through.

The only way out is through.

Leave a Reply

