The Great Coffee Detox of 2011

As I mentioned in Rebooting, one of my goals for this week is to decrease my coffee consumption.  I don’t think that coffee is inherently “bad” for you.  I drink A LOT of coffee and I have a sneaky suspicion that most of that is out of habit instead of need.  If I can get up in the morning, have a cup of coffee, and go on in the day without having another that would be ideal.  I would be doing my body a great service by replacing the four or five cups of coffee I drink every day with three or four glasses of water.  It’s true that research recently showed that mass coffee drinkers like me have a lower instance of certain cancers.  What those news stories did fail to mention are the side effects of coffee consumption.  These include:

  • Caffeine is a diuretic that causes dehydration.
  • Caffeine is an addictive substance.
  • Caffeine is a stimulant that can change heartbeat and blood pressure.

I think most experts agree that one or two cups of coffee per day are not detrimental.  When you’ve been drinking as much coffee for as long as I have though, it gives you pause to wonder what you’re doing to your body.

So starting today, I’m on the Great Coffee Detox of 2011.  I’ll keep my progress updated in the comments until I reach my personal goal of one cup of coffee per day.  Stop by often to check out my progress, offer encouragement, or deride me for not sticking to it.  Do you want to coffee detox as well?  Join in the fun by posting your own progress in the comments.  Game on!

9 thoughts on “The Great Coffee Detox of 2011

  1. Good luck! I cut out coffee about every six months, go through hell in withdrawing from it, spend three weeks all foggy, feel great for several weeks and then have ‘just one cup.’ And start over. I hope that the one cup a day works for you. I’m currently at two.

  2. End of Day 1 and ended up at 4 cups of coffee for the day. As I suspected though, I think this has more to do with overcoming habit than living with less caffeine. Drop by to see how I make out tomorrow!

  3. So we’re drawing down Day 2 and I did one better today. Down to 3 cups but really felt tired out shopping this afternoon. That’s just probably something I’ll have to live with for a while until my body adjusts to the new levels of caffeine. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

