My Old Nemesis

“Do you expect me to talk?
No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die.”

This classic cinematic exchange between the arch-rivals Auric Goldfinger and James Bond sums up my feelings towards my old dietary nemesis.  Bread.

Yes, that’s right.  I said bread.

When I decided to give up the way I had been eating and go Paleo/Primal, the hardest thing for me to stop eating was bread.  Be it good old Wonderbread, a nice bagel, or something fresh from the bakery; I loved bread.  For some people it’s God, family, country.  For me it was God, family, white bread.  It was a staple of my lunch, dinner, and sometimes supper.  When I was a kid I used to just eat four or five slices of toast for breakfast.

And this isn’t to say I’ve conquered this demon.  I still have to consciously remove the bun from a hamburger or hot dog.  Which means I usually end up eating it.  Sometimes in a moment of weakness I have a bagel for breakfast instead of some good protein.  I suspect I’m not the only recovering gluten addict in the house.

When you’re trying to do something as life-changing as eating habits it all takes time.  You need to forgive yourself for having that hamburger bun or bowl of cereal or whatever.  If you’re starting this as late in life as I am (I’m 36), there’s a lot of programming you need to route around.  I alternate between saying to myself: “I’ve been doing this since January!  Lay off the bread already!” and “It’s okay, you’ve only been doing this since January.”

So today when you sit down for a meal and realize afterwards you ate something you shouldn’t have (I’m looking at you corn), take a deep breath and be forgiving.  The only real failure is if you fall back to old habits entirely.  And if you do, remember that the only way to get back on the path is to get back on the path.  You can do this.  I can do this.  We all just need to stick together.

Leave a Reply

